Exploding Head Syndrome

RoseRed

Truth Seeker
Reaction score
This might not be paranormal (hope it's ok to post it here?), as science has proven it's all in our heads, but has anyone ever experienced the phenomenon called Exploding Head Syndrome? (Apologies if there's already a thread somewhere covering this topic).

For those of you who don't know, it's where you are awakened from a deep sleep by an incredibly loud noise. It can sound like a bomb going off or a gun shot, and it sounds *very* real. There's no pain and it's nothing to be concerned about but it is a very strange experience.

The first time it ever happened to me, I was a student living with two other girls. We were all asleep one night when I was woken in the early hours by a huge BANG on my bedroom door. I froze with terror as I knew neither of the girls would bang just once and as loudly as that. In the morning I asked if either of them had knocked on my door in the night and they both said they hadn't. What's more, they didn't even hear it. I chalked it up to something perhaps paranormal or maybe just a dream, and then put it out of my mind.

The second time it happened, I had just moved into a new house. Again, I was awakened in the early hours of the morning from a dead sleep by a huge BANG that sounded like a door being violently slammed shut. This time, I was sure there was someone in the house so I got up and crept out of my room very carefully and quietly. I checked the kitchen and realised very quickly that my cat was still fast asleep! I knew immediately that no one had slammed a door because if they had, my cat would be wide awake... Again, I chalked it up to possibly being something paranormal, or a really vivid dream and went back to bed.