What is the value of books and talking to people

TexDanm

Truth Seeker
Reaction score
I posted this on another board that is about prepping and survival. They were talking about how people will deal if the power were to go off and people were isolated into small areas. I believe that a library is crucial but others are old school and think that reading is a waste of time. Many in the prepper community are of a belief that hermitage is the best way to survive. I am a builder and believe that if things were to fall that we would need to reconnect and reorganize first into clans and then tribes and then nations.

Another wandering rant from Dan...

Modern people are actually poorly prepared for true solitude. In the past, people spent many hours alone in their heads doing various menial repetitive jobs. Most of those have been replaced with machines. People used to get together to "visit" and talk. Now if you watch in a restaurant people all sit at a table looking at their phones. At home, they sit and look at a TV and even when they are driving the radio is going. There is a reason that putting someone in solitary confinement is a punishment. In the past it was hard, now it drives people totally crazy because they don't have the mental tools to deal with a lack of input to keep their minds alive and moving.

In the past, there were people that made a profession of traveling around and telling stories. This is where the various "Mythologies" of oral traditions came from. At night when their day of work was done, they go together and someone would look up at the stars and tell them stories about the things that they saw in the shapes made by the constellations. They told stories of the ancestors and the great people of the past.