Did you ever....

Debi

Owner/Admin
Staff
Reaction score
AS A KID, I WAS "SELF EMPLOYED" MUCH OF THE TIME. I BABYSAT, MOWED LAWNS AND DID ODD JOBS TO MAKE A BIT OF MONEY.

DID YOU EVER DO THIS AS A KID? I REMEMBER I MADE 50 CENTS AN HOUR BABYSITTING, AND A WHOPPING $2 FOR MOWING A YARD. DISCOUNT IF IT WAS A SMALL ONE. LOL WHAT KIND OF "WORK" DID YOU DO AS A KID AND WHAT DID YOU SPEND YOUR MONEY ON?

95703832_3802719399770669_7078299123933249536_n.jpg

Reactions: Lynne
I used to breed birds,chickens and ducks and used the money to feed,build cages and buy more birds.

Reactions: Lynne and Charleh
I mowed my neighbors yard for a few years then when I was 12 I started working on a melon farm.

I think I can remember only a few years that I mowed the lawns for £5 pocket money. Not long after I was an apprentice for 3 years then earning a wage.

When I was a kid I got an allowance of 50 cents a week. When I was about 9 I talked to my Dad about a raise. He told me that he would think about it. a few days later he came back to me and asked how a $1.50 a week sounded. I thought that was GREAT. Paper money was BIG money to me back then. He then explained that he had lined me up a job. I mowed our yard every other week and then mowed the neighbor's yard every other week. I raked the yards during the winter and they each paid me $1.50 every other week. I bought a bicycle and I never asked for a raise again.

When I was 15 I got a job and worked in a warehouse every day before school? Later I worked in a rice dryer from 8 pm to 8 am 7 days a week and bought my first car, a 56 Chevy Bellaire fixed it up mechanically then got it painted candy apple red. I then did the interior with crushed leather and Red and black shag carpet. When school started they let me work from 8 pm to 6 am.