Asteroid approach

Discussion in 'Science/Time Travel/AI' started by Paulm, Nov 10, 2019.

  1. Paulm

    Paulm
    Expand Collapse
    Truth Seeker

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Messages:
    4,995
    Likes Received:
    5,397
    qwynie Rose likes this.
  2. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175
    Verified with NASA post in this thread yesterday, Paul.

    Mystery Booms are back

    Got hidden within that topic, but they do go together. Post #8 there goes into how they "suddenly" are announcing a meteor shower to go with it. I'd say we may want to keep a head's up on that date.

    Here's the links from that post:

    Watch around Nov. 21st, when we have a large asteroid that will be traveling extremely close to Earth. Asteroid horror: NASA spots space rock half size of Ben Nevis on dangerous Earth-orbit. This has been known for a bit, and suddenly NASA put out a warning about a "meteor shower" for the same night, without directly talking about said asteroid.

    Minor meteor shower set to blow up in an outburst of shooting stars
     
  3. Benway

    Benway
    Expand Collapse
    In the Space Cathedral

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    4,047
    Likes Received:
    3,574
    So NASA are nuking an asteroid the size of a mountain just as it's about to hit us on the 21st...? I'll cross my fingers and wear a hat!
     
  4. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175
    No nukes, Ben!
     
    Benway likes this.
  5. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175

    Meteor exploded over MO last night. Big boom.
     
    Benway likes this.
  6. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175
  7. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175
    https://www.disclose.tv/15-magical-...DSEFdONCYCU1zPz-KvliwXht5fxZGrRSXMDdWgIvBkfjE

    15 Magical Minutes: 'Meteor Storm' To Unfold On Thursday

    A meteor storm that may consist of approximately 400 shooting stars will be on display on Thursday, November 21, 2019.

    The meteor outburst is said to have originated from the Alpha Monocerotid meteor and viewers should expect to view its showcase for a duration of between 15 to 40 minutes.

    Typically meteor showers occur as a result of the dust trails left behind by comets, colliding with the Earth's atmosphere. These showers tend to occur on a yearly basis and their origin comet is typically known to experts within the astronomy community. The Alpha Monocerotid Shower, however, is different in that astronomers do not know its origin. It has been theorized that is is a long-period comet that orbits the sun approximately once every five hundred years. It leaves behind a somewhat narrow dust trail that the Earth rarely encounters but when it does a meteor outburst unfolds. Earth has encountered this astronomical spectacle before throughout its historical lifespan with each instance creating a powerful meteor display:

    • 1925: 1,000 shooting stars per hour (“meteor storm”)
    • 1935: 1,000 shooting stars per hour (“meteor storm”)
    • 1985: 700 shooting stars per hour (“meteor outburst”)
    • 1995: 400 shooting stars per hour (“meteor outburst”)
    • 2019: Between 100 (“meteor outburst”) and 1,000 (“meteor storm”) shooting stars per hour are predicted
    If one is planning on catching a viewing of this spectacle within the night sky careful planning must be taken into consideration. Only persons located in North and South America, Europe and Africa will be able to see the outburst. It is predicted to unfold at 04:50 Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) on Friday, November 22.

    Translated Times:

    • Los Angeles, CA: 8:15 p.m. PST on Thursday, November 21
    • Phoenix, AZ: 9:15 p.m. MST on Thursday, November 21
    • Dallas, TX: 10:15 p.m. CST on Thursday, November 21
    • Mexico City, Mexico: 10:15 p.m. CST on Thursday, November 21
    • New York City, NY & Washington DC: 11:15 p.m. EST on Thursday, November 21
    • Santiago, Chile: 1:15 a.m. CLST on Friday, November 22
    • São Paulo, Brazil: 1:15 a.m. BRT on Friday, November 22
    • Buenos Aires, Argentina: 1:15 a.m. ART on Friday, November 22
    • Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain: 4:15 a.m. WET on Friday, November 22
    • Cardiff, Edinburgh & London: 4:15 a.m. GMT on Friday, November 22
    • Madrid, Paris & Brussels: 5:15 a.m. CET on Friday, November 22
    • Marrakech: 5:15 a.m. CET on Friday, November 22
    The meteor shower like many others gets its name from its location within the constellation of Monoceros, the Unicorn. One should face the more famous Orion and Gemini constellations for optimum viewing. Despite not originating from these respective constellations, viewers are advised to turn their heads in that direction. Europe is expected to have the best seat to the showcase as typically more shooting stars will be visible within the higher Monoceros. North and South America follow in second in terms of spectacle visibility.
     
    Benway likes this.
  8. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175
  9. Debi

    Debi
    Expand Collapse
    Owner/Admin
    Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    167,588
    Likes Received:
    119,175

Share This Page